If you see a club you are interested in or want to start your own, stop by SALO on the Lakeland or Winter Haven campus and the JDA Center to find out how to charter your own club with fellow students! Contact Student Government at: sga@polk.edu

  1. American Sign Language Club - LK

    For students who are interested in learning about the deaf community with an emphasis on the history and culture of deafness in America. For more information, please contact advisor Michele Smith at michydew@aol.com.

  2. Art Club - WH

    Promotes, prepares, and educates students pursuing a career in all mediums of visual arts. For more information, please contact advisors Holly Scoggins at 863.297. 1061 or hscoggins@polk.edu or David Woods at 863.292.3641 or dwoods@polk.edu or Andrew Coombs at 863.297.1010 X5150 or acoombs@polk.edu.

  3. Association of Engineering Technology Student, ASSETS - Clear Springs

    Provides an opportunity to maximize the experience of its members in gaining advanced scientific knowledge in the field of engineering technology; facilitates providing the means and the methods for making connections with professionals in the field prior to entering the workforce arena; and promotes achievement of the highest technical competency and professional prowess of its members.  For more information, please contact Mori Toosi at 863-837-5937 or mtoosi@polk.edu.

  4. Bass Fishing Club - Airside West

    The Polk State College Bass Fishing Club is a BASSmaster and FLW Collegiate National Championship Contender, consistently ranking in Collegiate Competition throughout the United States. The Fishing Team students strive to be the best by learning, staying active in the community, and giving back to the community while competing to continue their careers in fishing by making it to the professional arena!

     

    For more information, please contact advisor Tracy Tanner at 863.669.2917 or ttanner@polk.edu.

  5. Black Student Union - WH

    Provides members cultural awareness and pride within the African American society by organizing enjoyable, educational, and cultural events at Polk State College. For more information, please contact advisor Greg Harris at 863.292.3616 or gharris@polk.edu.

  6. Brother 2 Brother (Students for African American Brotherhood) - WH

    Promotes recognition for and involvement of African American students with the intention of creating a strong voice on campus and making an impact on decisions regarding students of the college community. For more information, please contact advisor Terrance Hays at 863.298.6823 or thays@polk.edu.

  7. Cardiovascular Club - Airside West

    For more information, please contact advisor Kevin Ferrier at 863.669.2947 or kferrier@polk.edu.

  8. Chi Alpha (Christian Club) - WH

    The mission of Chi Alpha is to reconcile students to Jesus Christ, thereby transforming the College, the marketplace, and the world. Chi Alpha’s mission motto is “Every student goes, every student gives, every student prays, and every student welcomes.” To this end, the organization is committed to a five-fold philosophy: being a community of worship, prayer, fellowship, discipleship, and mission. For more information, please contact advisor Luis Fernandez at 863.292.3678 or lfernandez@polk.edu.

  9. Comics, Animation and Cinema Club - LK

    To share with the Polk State community and beyond various social and artistic concerns raised in the comic and cinema medium. For more information, please contact advisor Derek Menchan at 863.669.2928 or dmenchan@polk.edu.

  10. Creative Writing Club - LK

    For student writers who are interested in integrating, learning, and growing in their writing skills and techniques and who enjoy writing poetry, prose, plays, song lyrics, graphic novels, and other genres. For more information, please contact advisor Eileen Murphy at 863.669.2876 or emurphy@polk.edu.

    (More info)

  11. Fellowship of Christian Athletes - LK

    For student athletes to focus on serving local communities by equipping, empowering, and encouraging people to make a difference for Christ. For more information, please contact advisor Coach Steve Linamen at 863. 297.1010 ext. 6371 or slinamen@polk.edu.

  12. Florida Local Awareness Group (FLAG)

    FLAG is a group of students that are committed to focusing on global concepts of sustainable practices and environmental awareness to benefit the health and wellness of our campus and community.  For more information, please contact advisor KT Moran at kmoran@polk.edu or 863.297.1010 ext. 5318.

  13. Florida Future Educators of America - LK

    Inspires competent young people to consider teaching as a career. Provides members with the knowledge and experiences that develop dispositions and aptitudes essential to successful teaching. For more information, contact Patrica Linder at plinder@polk.edu, Karen Greeson at kgreeson@polk.edu, or Rebecca Pugh at rpugh@polk.edu.

  14. Florida Nursing Students Association (FNSA) - LK

    Provides nursing students the necessary support and guidance to prepare for the assumption of professional nursing responsibilities. FNSA promotes leadership, education, and allows members to gain critical skills and experience to enhance their future nursing professions. FNSA encourages participation in community outreach activities to promote improved health care and resolution of related social issues. Members can inspire others by participating in volunteer activities, such as public awareness campaigns, health fairs, education seminars, and blood drives, and interdisciplinary activities at Polk State College. Members who join FNSA also become members of the National Student Nurses Association (NSNA). FNSA is a constituent of the NSNA, promoting collaborative relationships with professional nursing organizations on the state and national level. FNSA serves as a channel of communication between nursing students and various state and district units of professional nurses’ associations. Membership is open to any student who is currently enrolled or is planning to enroll in the Nursing program. For more information or to join, please visit www.fnsa.net or contact one of the current officers or faculty advisor LouAnne Harto at 863.292.3721 or lharto@polk.edu.

  15. Florida Nursing Students Association (FNSA) - WH

    Provides nursing students with the necessary support and guidance to prepare for professional nursing responsibilities. FNSA promotes leadership, education, and allows members to gain critical skills and experience to enhance their future nursing profession. FNSA encourages participation in community outreach activities to promote improved health care and the resolution of related social issues. Members can inspire others by participating in volunteer activities such as public awareness campaigns, health fairs, education seminars, and blood drives, as well as interdisciplinary activities at Polk State College. Members who join FNSA become members of the National Student Nurses Association (NSNA) as well.   FNSA is a constituent of the NSNA and promotes collaborative relationships with professional nursing organizations on the state and national level. FNSA serves as a channel of communication between nursing students and various state and district units of professional nurses’ associations. Membership is open to any student who is currently enrolled or is planning to enroll in the nursing program. For more information or to join, please visit www.fnsa.net or contact one of the current officers or faculty advisor LouAnne Harto at 863.292.3721 or lharto@polk.edu.

  16. Free To Be Me (GSA) - LK

    This club provides an opportunity for students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, and allies to come together in a safe space, to share stories, learn about resources, and further inform the community around us.  For more information, please contact advisor, Kim DeRonda at 863-669-2805 or kderonda@polk.edu.

  17. Golden Key International Honor Society - LK

    To enable students to reach their potential through advancement of academics, leadership, and service. The key is to achieve the student’s personal, professional, and altruistic goals. For more information, please contact advisor Herbert Nold at 863.669.4925 or hnold@polk.edu.

  18. Honors Program Student Council - LK

    Provides highly-motivated, talented students who wish to be challenged an intellectually-stimulating academic program and engages students through academic field trips. For more information, please contact Lisa Wetmore at 863.297.1010 ext 5241  or lwetmore@polk.edu.

    (More Info)

  19. Honors Program Student Council - WH

    Provides highly-motivated, talented students who wish to be challenged an intellectually-stimulating academic program and engages students through academic field trips. For more information, please contact  Lisa Wetmore at 863.297.1010 ext 5241  or lwetmore@polk.edu.

  20. International Circle - LK

    For students interested in awareness and understanding of the personal and professional experiences of individuals across the globe. For more information, please contact advisor Kim Simpson at ksimpson@polk.edu or  863.297.1010 ext. 6439 or Thelma Chicas at thicas@polk.edu or 863.297.1010 ext. 6358

    (More Info)

  21. International Circle - WH

    Provides opportunities for students interested in awareness and understanding of the personal and professional experiences of individuals across the globe. For more information, please contact advisors Logan Randolph at 863.292.3611 or lrandolph@polk.edu or Kim Simpson at 863.297.1010 X6439 or ksimpson@polk.edu or Cary Gardell at 863.297.1010 X5156 or cgardell@polk.edu.

    (More Info)

     

  22. Intervarsity Council - LK

    A community of students who are compelled to serve, to grow, and to renew the campus through the love of Christianity. For more information, please contact advisor Madhu Thomas at mathomas@polk.edu.

  23. Intramural Sports - LK

    Offers individual, dual, and team sports for male and female participants. Intramural activities range from traditional sports such as flag football, soccer, and basketball and non-traditional sports like ultimate Frisbee and dodgeball. For more information, please contact SALO at salo@polk.edu.

     

  24. Intramural Sports - WH

    Offers individual, dual, and team sports for male and female participants. Intramural activities range from traditional sports such as flag football, soccer, and basketball and non-traditional sports like ultimate Frisbee and dodgeball. For more information, please contact SALO at salo@polk.edu.

  25. Math Club - LK

    A club that helps build confidence in students of all abilities and interest levels in math by giving them the opportunity to engage in fun math activities in a relaxed, social environment. For more information, please contact advisors Richard Decker at 863.669-2872 or rdecker@polk.edu or Lorne Fairbarn at 863.669.2859 or lfairbairn@polk.edu.

  26. Math Club - WH

    Provides activities that encourage students to explore, enjoy, and appreciate mathematics. For more information, please contact advisors Cynthia Scofield at 863.292.3636 or cscofield@polk.edu or Li Zhou at 863.292.3643 or lzhou@polk.edu.

  27. Occupational Therapy Assistant Club - WH

    The Occupational Therapy Assistant (OTA) Club works under the supervision of an occupational therapist. The OTA teaches individuals with emotional, developmental, and/or physical disabilities new methods or techniques to perform daily activities, and adapts the environment, and/or tasks to maximize independent functioning. “Occupation” (purposeful activity) is used as a means of preventing, reducing, and/or overcoming physical, social, and emotional disabilities in people of all ages.  This club is limited to students who are currently admitted into the OTA program.  For more information on the OTA program at Polk State, please refer to the program webpage https://www.polk.edu/occupational-therapy-assistant/

    For more club information, please contact advisor Annette Bullard at 863.297-1010 ext. 5425 or abullard@polk.edu.

  28. PTA (Physical Therapist Assistant) - WH

     Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) Club is the official organization of the Polk State College Physical Therapist Assistant Program.The objectives of this organization are:

    1. To promote interest in physical therapy on campus and in the community among members and nonmembers.
    2. To maintain communication with other physical therapy students in the state and across the nation.
    3. To provide a forum for discussion between students and faculty members of the educational goals, policies, and problems within the program as they relate to student education and affairs.
    4. To engage in campus and community activities to further the dissemination of knowledge of the practice of physical therapy.

    The PTA Club welcomes students that are interested in the PTA career. The members are composed of:

    1. Active: Students who are presently enrolled in the professional level of the physical therapist assistant program.
    2. Affiliate: Students enrolled in the pre-physical therapy curriculum and students with an active interest in physical therapy as a profession.
    3. Honorary: Physical therapy faculty and those persons designated by a majority vote of the active and affiliate membership.
    4. Alumni: Students who have graduated from Polk State College’s PTA Program.

    For more information, please contact advisor Anna Evans at 863.297.1010 ext. 5751 or aevans@polk.edu.

  29. Radiography Club - Airside

    For more information, please contact advisor Beth Luckett at 863.297.1010 ext. 4070 or bluckett@polk.edu.

  30. SGA (Student Government Association) - LK, WH

    Student Government is the governing organization and representative of the student body, and its actions supersede those of all other student organizations and provides students with an active voice in the administrative and legislative matters concerning the student body.  For more information contact us at sga@polk.edu.

  31. SISTERS (Strong, Independent, Sisters, that Encourage, Respect and Survive)

    SISTERS (Strong, Independent, Sisters, that Encourage, Respect, and Survive) build unity and trust between young ladies for the purpose of influencing an academic, professional, and social foundation that will establish long lasting relationships and future opportunities.  For more information, please contact advisor Yulonda Bell at 863.297.1010 ext. 5227 or ybell@polk.edu.

  32. Sonography Club - Airside

    For more information, please contact advisor Merrybeth Etherton  at 863.297.1010 X4068 or metherton@polk.edu.

  33. Speech & Debate Team - LK

  34. Student Activities Board - Airside, JDA, LK, WH

    To inspire campus pride by promoting student involvement by providing cultural, educational, entertaining, and interactive events/activities on campus.

  35. Visual Arts Society of Polk State College - WH

    To promote, prepare, and educate students pursuing a career in all mediums of visual arts.   For more information, please contact advisor Andrew Combs at 863.292.1010 X5150 or acoombs@polk.edu.

  36. Wellness Club - WH

    To engage and promote healthy lifestyles to students through various workshops and work-out classes.   For more information, please contact advisor Laurel Smith at 863.297.1010 ext. 5067 or laurelsmith@polk.edu.

  37. Unete Club-Hispanic Club

    The Unete Club aims to help connect Spanish-speaking students with other students on campus, to create an environment of support, cultural awareness, professional development, educational opportunities, leadership skills and social and political involvement. Through the collaboration of other student clubs and organizations, Unete! Will promote diversity, and reinforce our college’s mission to transform lives through the power of education and to celebrate diversity.  For more information, please contact advisor Jeannette Grullon at 863.837.5928 or jgrullon@polk.edu.