The Equivalency of Training process is for Out-of-State Officers/Federal Officers and/or previously certified Florida officers with a four-year or more break in service. This process is an avenue by which an officer may request an exemption from a full academy program in accordance with F.A.C. 11B35.009.
For more information contact:
Center for Public Safety
CORRECT ADDRESS FOR MAILING EOT PAPERWORK:
POLK STATE COLLEGE
999 AVENUE H, NE
WINTER HAVEN, FL. 33880
ATTN: Tommy Holland
STATION: # 400
2017 Equivalency of Training Class Dates
The EOT for LE is offered in January, April, July, and October. The EOT for CO is offered in October and April
|EOT for Law Enforcement October 9, 2017 – November 4, 2017 (combined online and face-to-face instruction)
Contact Sgt. Christine Ford (863) 669-2909 firstname.lastname@example.org
|The State Officer Certification Exam review of the course will be held online from October 9, 2017 – October 30, 2017. The face-to-face session for high liability proficiency demonstrations will be October 31, 2017 – November 4, 2017.|
|EOT for Law Enforcement requires a minimum of five (5) students. Fee – $791.00 (there is an additional fee of $150.00 if we provide a handgun and ammunition). This course provides students with a State Officer Exam Review as well as the required high liability proficiencies.|
|EOT for Corrections October, 2017
Contact Sgt. Kevin McGraw (863) 669-2912 email@example.com
|This Course is delivered online (State Exam test Prep) on October 9 to October 31, 2017 . It is an online review and the face-to-face (High Liability Proficiencies) will be October 31 to November 3, 2017.|
|EOT for Corrections requires a minimum of five (5) students. Fee – $727.00 (there is an additional fee of $150.00 if we provide a handgun and ammunition). This course provides students with a State Officer Exam Review as well as the required high liability proficiencies.|
Verification must be provided via FDLE Equivalency of Training CJSTC form 76 for those applicants previously certified in-state, out-of-state or Federal/military. This form must be submitted and approved at the time of registration. You may contact the Florida Department of Law Enforcement at (850) 410-8600 for assessment information, or you may obtain your assessment through our Criminal Justice Selection Center located at the Polk State College Winter Haven Campus.
- A valid driver’s license will be required for all applicants.
- Register and pay fees online.
- Students must be registered by 4:00 p.m. one week prior to class start date.
This course consists of two segments:
- CJSTC-mandated demonstrations of proficiency in the High Liability Areas of Firearms, Vehicle Operations (LE only), Defensive Tactics and First Aid
- Exam Preparation review of curriculum and mock testing.
Students must complete both segments. Students must have completely read and reviewed the ENTIRE course curriculum prior to attending the class. Volume 1 and 2 of the curriculum will be mailed to you once you have paid for the course. The IPS does NOT represent that taking the exam preparation review will guarantee passage of the State Officer Certification Exam.
Registration will be on a FIRST COME/FIRST PAY basis. You will NOT be considered registered until you have paid your fees and submitted an approved CJSTC Form 76. We will NOT hold a seat for anyone. There is a limit of 12 total seats for this class.
This class is only available to those individuals who have been approved for the Equivalency of Training (EOT) and have been issued the CJSTC Form 76.
CANCELLATION PROCEDURE: Students who are registered for class will be notified of cancellation of the class one week before the class is scheduled to begin.
NO REFUNDS WILL BE MADE IF CLASS RUNS OR IF STUDENTS DO NOT DROP THE CLASS ONE WEEK IN ADVANCE.
For Equivalency of Training requirements and application, see Related info on the right side, download and complete all forms and submit as instructed.
For information about VA benefits, contact:
Polk State College Coordinator of Veteran Services